London World Sevens Series Review and Final Standings

Oceania Rugby, Mon May 22, 2017 12:51PM

South Africa was crowned 2016/2017 Sevens World Series Champions after winning five of the ten rounds and appearing in seven Finals. Defending champions finished third in the Series with New Zealand fourth, Australia sixth and Samoa thirteenth.

Final Round - London Sevens

Scotland defeated England in an scintillating HSBC London Sevens final on Sunday as South Africa were officially crowned series champions.

Captain Scott Riddell scored the winner as they beat the auld enemy 12-5 to raise the trophy in London for the second year in a row. Callum McCrea's men earlier made history by becoming the first Scottish team to beat a New Zealand team in their history.

Speaking afterwards, the head coach said: "I’m very, very pleased with the effort from the boys. We’ve learned from a poor final against South Africa last week (in Paris). This week we dusted ourselves off and came back. It was a different mindset as holders."

Full Results: click HERE



Canada claimed bronze after beating USA 22-19, and the Challenge Trophy was won by Fiji, who beat Wales, 26-14. England finished second in the series standings with the Olympic Games Champions Fiji finishing third overall this season. 


Oceania Team results


Pool C:
New Zealand 33 Japan 7
New Zealand 19 Canada 14
New Zealand 27 Fiji 21
Fiji 19 Canada 22
Fiji 61 Japan 5


Pool D:

Samoa 19 England 24
Samoa 5 Australia 34
Samoa 40 Spain 7

Australia 12 England 19
Australia 50 Spain 0


13th Place SF: Samoa 33 Japan 7
13th Place Play-off: Samoa 24 Russia 19 


5th Place SF: Australia 40 New Zealand 7
5th Place Play-off: South Africa 28 Australia 17



Trophy QF: Fiji 31 Russia 5, Samoa 21 Wales 29
Trophy SF: Fiji 45 Kenya 5
Trophy Final: Fiji 26 Wales 14


Cup QF: USA 31 Australia 14, Scotland 24 New Zealand 21, England 17 South Africa 12, Canada 28 Argentina 7



Last updated: Monday May 22, 2017 3:47PM
Author: Greg Thomas