Disappointing Paris Sevens for Oceania Teams

Oceania Rugby, Mon May 15, 2017 8:10AM

There were mixed fortunes for the Oceania teams at the Paris Sevens as South Africa ensured they are the 2016-17 HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series champions.


The Blizboks beat Scotland 15-5 in a tense final at the Stade Jean Bouin on Sunday evening, but had earlier wrapped up the series after they beat New Zealand in the Cup semi-finals and England's earlier loss to Scotland at the same stage meant that they could not overtake the South Africans. Fiji, second in the standings before the tournament, exited at the quarter-final stage.


A remarkable season saw South Africa appear in eight of the nine finals to date, as they clinched the title for the first time since 2009.


Coach Neil Powell was relieved to finally secure the series: "It's been an incredible season so far. We wanted to finish strongly in this tournament and in London next week. This is for all the people in the system, not just the players, but the management back at home as well, for really working hard to make it happen.


"Everytime we put our jerseys on our backs we play for South Africa, for our family and our people back home that support us. It's special for us. We want to say thanks to them for supporting us all year."


Elsewhere, New Zealand claimed bronze in Paris after beating England 12-5 while Argentina won the Challenge Trophy after they beat Australia, 33-12. After topping Pool D ahead of Fiji and Australia after the first day Samoa lost its quarter-final to South Africa before losing to USA in the 5th place play-off.


The final tournament of the season takes place in London 20-21 May.



Full results and news- click HERE


Oceania Team results


Pool A:
New Zealand 26 Wales 7
New Zealand 21 Argentina 14
New Zealand 27 USA 14


Pool D:

Fiji 54 Russia 0
Fiji 31 Australia 14
Fiji 17 Samoa 19
Samoa 19 Russia 19
Samoa 21 Australia 14
Australia 19 Russia 12


Trophy QF: Australia 28 Japan 19
Trophy SF: Australia 14 Wales 12
Trophy Final: Argentina 33 Australia 12


Cup QF: Scotland 24 Fiji 0, South Africa 12 Samoa 0, New Zealand 14 France 0


5th Place SF: USA 24 Fiji 14, Samoa 21 France 19
5th Place Play-off: USA 24 Samoa 19


Cup SF: South Africa 26 New Zealand 5


Bronze Final: New Zealand 12 England 5

Last updated: Monday May 15, 2017 10:16AM
Author: Greg Thomas