Oceania Cup

The Oceania Cup is Oceania Rugby’s showpiece rugby event for its Development and Targeted Unions and is now held biennially. Member Unions eligible to participate in the Tournament are American Samoa, Cook Islands, Niue, New Caledonia, Papua New Guinea, Solomon Islands, Tahiti, Tuvalu, Vanuatu and Wallis and Futuna.

The 2013 Oceania Cup was hosted by the Papua New Guinea Rugby Football Union – the defending champions who won the 2011 Oceania Cup by defeating Niue 36-7 in their Round 3 match at Lloyd Robson Oval in Port Moresby.

Four teams competed in the 2013 tournament: Cook Islands, Papua New Guinea, Solomon Islands and Tahiti. The Tournament also doubled as a qualifier for 2015 Rugby World Cup.

The winner of the 2013 Oceania Cup was Cook Islands who played Fiji in 2014 for the Oceania 1 qualifying place at 2015 Rugby World Cup in England.


 The 2015 Oceania Cup was played in Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea. Four teams competed for the title: Solomon Islands, Tahiti, debutants American Samoa and Papua New Guinea.


The Oceania Cup takes on added significance for Oceania with the winner of the tournament in 2017 winning qualification to the RWC 2019 repechage qualifier tournament. This will feature four teams in a round robin format with the winner qualifying for Japan. RWC qualifying details: http://bit.ly/1S6fpWN


2015 Oceania Cup Results:

Rd 1: American Samoa 30 Solomon Islands 15, PNG 32 Tahiti 10
Rd 2: Tahiti 36 Solomon Islands 12, PNG 36 American Samoa 22
3: Tahiti 20 American Samoa 8, PNG 58 Solomon Islands 19. 


Winners PNG [15], 2nd Tahiti [9], 3rd American Samoa [5], 4th Solomon Islands [0]

2007 Champions: Papua New Guinea
2008 Champions: Niue
2009 Champions: Papua New Guinea
2011 Champions: Papua New Guinea
2013 Champions: Cook Islands
2015 Champions:Papua New Guinea