World Rugby Pacific Nations Cup

The Pacific Nations Cup is an International round-robin competition that in 2016 will comprise the national teams of Fiji, Samoa and Tonga.

Like the World Rugby Pacific Challenge, the Pacific Nations Cup is a key component of World Rugby’s Strategic Investment initiative and is designed to provide the Pacific Island Nations with regular high-level international competition. The tournament format has changed over the years to reflect the growth of the game and the changing pathways developed by World Rugby.


In the early days the tournament comprised Fiji, Samoa, Tonga, Japan and the Junior All Blacks - who in 2008 were replaced by the New Zealand Maori - and Australia A. Japan was also included into the tournament in 2006.

In 2013 the Pacific Nations Cup expanded to include USA and Canada in a welcome development to what was becoming an increasingly popular tournament. The addition of these two Unions was a boost for the growth of rugby in these countries.


In 2015 the tournament of Fiji, Samoa, Tonga, Canada, USA and Japan playing matches in the Pacific Islands, USA and Canada. Alongside the round robin tournament the three Pacific Island nations will separately host Georgia who will play against each of the Unions.


However, with the advent by World Rugby of the inaugural Americas Rugby Championship in 2016 Canada and the USA will not compete in the 2016 Pacific Nations Cup. The tournament does take on big significance in 2016 and 2017 for the Pacific Island Unions as the two best placed teams after the two year/home and away series will qualify for Rugby World Cup 2019 in Japan. The third placed team will enter a repechage play-off process with a European team for the chance to qualify.


2016 Pacific Nations Cup


 11 June Fiji 23 Tonga 18 ANZ Stadium, Suva  
 18 June Fiji 26 Samoa 16 ANZ Stadium, Suva
 25 June Samoa Tonga Apia Stadium, Apia

2006 Champions: Junior All Blacks
2007 Champions: Junior All Blacks
2008 Champions: New Zealand Maori
2009 Champions: Junior All Blacks
2010 Champions: Samoa
2011 Champions: Japan
2012 Champions: Samoa
2013 Champions: Fiji
2014 Champions: Japan/Samoa
2015 Champions: Fiji
2016 Champions: Fiji