Oceania Rugby Sevens Championships


Men's and Women's Sevens Tournament


The Oceania Rugby Sevens Championships was introduced as a result of the successful and highly popular World Rugby HSBC World Series and the Rugby World Sevens Cup. The Oceania region boasts to contain the cream of the crop in regards to top performers in Rugby Sevens, including the current Olympic Gold Medalists Fiji (Men's) and Australia (Women's), as such the Yearly Oceania Rugby Sevens Championship is a hotly contested competition.


2017 Oceania Rugby Sevens Championships Tournament


It was announced on Tuesday 19th September that following the success of the 2016 Championship the event will again combine the both the Men’s and Women’s events. The 2017 Championships will be held in Suva, at ANZ Stadium over two days, Friday 10th - Saturday 11th November, and will be the perfect lead in to the start of the 2017-2018 Men’s and Women’s HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series that kick-off in Dubai in early December.


The Men’s Championship event will see 13 teams from around the region vying to take the championship title from Fiji, including HSBC Series core teams Australia, Samoa and New Zealand.The Men’s event will comprise of 4 pools consisting of Fiji, New Zealand, Australia, Samoa, Papua New Guinea, Tonga, Cook Islands, American Samoa, New Caledonia, Nauru, Solomon Islands, Vanuatu, Tuvalu.


The Women’s event has 8 teams confirmed from around the region with Papua New Guinea looking to continue the impressive work from the 2016 Championship following their invitational appearance at the Sydney 7s in February this year. The Women's event will comprise of 2 pools consisting of New Zealand, Australia, Fiji, Papua New Guinea, Cook Islands, Samoa, Tonga, Tahiti.


In front of a dedicated and vocal home crowd who waited out the weather delays, Fiji have again claimed the Oceania Rugby Sevens Championship in a convincing 26 – 0 win over New Zealand. The rain soaked field was no hinder to the home side who enthralled the home crowd to claim the Championship in front of their fans.

Throughout the day renditions of God Defend New Zealand were heard around the ground after St Annes Primary school came to ANZ Stadium to support their new best friends the Black Ferns who visited the school on Thursday as a part of the Beyond Oceania Sevens School program.
The young girls stayed throughout the rain to watch the New Zealand side defeat Australia 12-5, in what was a great final between the two Trans-Tasman Rivals.
In a flip to tradition the Women’s Championship final was the final match of the tournament with fans staying to cheer their new Champions home against Australia.

Pools draws for the tournament can be found here: 2017 Oceania Rugby Sevens Championship POOLS

Tournament draw can be viewed here: 2017 Oceania Rugby Sevens Championship DRAW

Day 1 Results can be found here: 2017 Oceania Rugby Sevens Championships DAY 1 RESULTS

Day 2 Results can be found here: 2017 Oceania Rugby Sevens Championships DAY 2 RESULTS

Top Try Scorers can be found here: 2017 Oceania Rugby Sevens Championships TOP TRY SCORERS


 Final Standings of 2017 Oceania Rugby Sevens Championships



Honour Board of Oceania Rugby Sevens Championship


*denote inaugural year


For more information click here or contact Oceania Rugby